Jan 27, 2020  
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog 
    
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Dedman School of Law: Academic Calendar



Fall Term 2018

August 20, Monday: Classes begin

August 24, Friday: Last day to enroll, add a course or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term.

August 31, Friday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply).  Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies). See Bursar’s website for more information.

September 3, Monday: University Holiday, Labor Day

October 29, Monday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

November 21, Wednesday: No classes

November 22–23, Thursday–Friday: University Holidays, Thanksgiving

November 27, Tuesday: Follow Friday class schedule

November 29, Thursday: Classes end; Last day to drop a course or withdraw from university with a grade of W. (Permission from instructor)

November 30, Friday: Reading Day

December 3, Monday: Examinations begin

December 13, Thursday: Examinations end

December 15, Saturday: Official close of term, degree conferral date and December Commencement Convocation

December 24–January 1, Monday-Tuesday: University Holidays, Winter Break

Spring Term 2019

January 10, Thursday: Classes begin

January 16, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add a course or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term.

January 21, Monday: University Holiday, Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

January 24, Thursday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply).  Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies). See Bursar’s website for more information.

March 11–15, Monday–Friday: Spring Break (tentative)

March 27, Wednesday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

April 19, Friday: University Holiday, Good Friday

April 25, Thursday: Follow Monday class schedule

April 26, Friday: Classes end; Last day to drop a course or withdraw from university with a grade of W. (Permission from Instructor)

April 29, Monday: Examinations begin

May 9, Thursday: Examinations end

May 18, Saturday: Official close of term, degree conferral date, Commencement Convocation and Dedman School of Law Hooding Ceremony

May Term 2019

May 13, Monday: Classes begin

May 14, Tuesday: Last day to add any hours to your schedule; last day to drop without receiving a grade of “W”

May 27, Monday: University Holiday, Memorial Day

June 2, Sunday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

June 11, Tuesday: Classes end; Last day to drop a course or withdraw from university with a grade of W. (Permission from instructor)

June 12 - 13, Wednesday-Thursday: Reading Days

June 14, Friday: Final Exams

Summer Session 2019

May 20, Monday: Classes begin

May 23, Thursday: Last day to add any hours to your schedule; last day to drop without receiving a grade of “W”

May 27, Monday: University Holiday, Memorial Day

June 24, Monday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

July 4, Thursday: University Holiday, Independence Day

July 9, Tuesday: Follow Wednesday Class Schedule (Thursday classes meet)

July 9, Tuesday: Classes end; Last day to drop a course or withdraw from university with a grade of W. (Permission from instructor)

July 10, Wednesday: Reading Day

July 11, Thursday: Examinations begin

July 15, Monday: Examinations end

August 6, Tuesday: Official close of term and degree conferral date

Major Religious Holidays

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas: December 25, 2018                                                

Good Friday: April 19, 2019                                                      

Easter Sunday: April 21, 2019

Easter Sunday (Orthodox): April 28, 2019

Hindu

Janmashtami: September 3, 2018 Diwali: November 7, 2018

Dasera: October 19, 2018

Jewish*

Rosh Hashanah: September 10-11, 2018                                

Yom Kippur: September 19, 2018                                            

Sukkot/Simchat Torah: September 23-30, 2018                     

Hanukkah: December 23-30, 2018

Purim: March 20/21, 2019

Pesach (Passover): April 20-27, 2019

Shavuot: June 8-10, 2019

Muslim

Eid al Adha: June 15, 2019                                                    

Islamic New Year: September 12, 2018                                 

Ashura: September 20/21, 2018                                             

Mawlid an Nabi: November 20/21, 2018

Ramadan: May 6, 2019

Eid al Fitr: June 4-7, 2019

* All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.

For Payment Due Dates, see the SMU Bursar website. Offices of the University will be closed September 3, 2018; November 22-23, 2018; December 24, 2018–January 1, 2019; January 21, 2019; April 19, 2019; May 27, 2019 and July 4, 2019.