Jan 27, 2020  
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog 
    
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

SMU Guildhall: Academic Calendar



Payment Due Dates: http://www.smu.edu/EnrollmentServices/Bursar/DueDates

Fall Term 2018

July 12, Thursday: First day to enroll.

August 17, Friday: Orientation.

August 18, Saturday: Game Jam.

August 20, Monday: First day of class.

August 24, Friday: Last day to enroll, add a course or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term.

August 31, Friday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply). Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies).

September 3, Monday: University Holiday, Labor Day.

October 8-9, Monday-Tuesday: Fall Break.

October 26, Friday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

November 2, Friday: Last day to drop a course (grade of W).

November 20, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.

November 22–23, Thursday–Friday: University Holidays, Thanksgiving.

December 4-5, Tuesday-Wednesday: Reading Days.

December 6-7, Thursday-Friday: Final Exams.

December 10, Monday: Faculty Planning Day.

December 15, Saturday: December Commencement/ Degree conferrals.

Spring Term 2019

November 12, Monday: First day to enroll.

January 18, Friday: First day of class.

January 21, Monday: University Holiday, Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

January 25, Friday: Last day to enroll, add a course or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term.

February 1, Friday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply). Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies).

March 11–17, Monday–Sunday: Spring Break.

March 26, Tuesday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

April 9, Tuesday: Last day to drop a course with a grade of W.

April 19, Friday: University Holiday, Good Friday.

April 26, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.

May 7, Tuesday: Reading Days.

May 8-9, Wednesday-Thursday: Final Exams.

May 10 or 13, Friday or Monday: Faculty Planning Day.

May 17, Friday: Exhibition.

May 18, Saturday: May Commencement Convocation/Degree Conferrals.

Summer Term 2019

April 22, Monday: First day to enroll.

May 20, Monday: First day of classes.

May 22, Wednesday: Last day to add/drop, enroll.

May 27, Monday: University Holiday, Memorial Day.

June 25, Tuesday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required. 

July 4, Thursday: University Holiday, Independence Day.

July 5, Friday: Last day to drop a course (grade of W) or withdraw from the University.

July 16-17, Tuesday-Wednesday: Final Exams.

July 19, Friday: Faculty Planning Day.

August 6, Tuesday: Degree Conferrals.

Major Religious Holidays

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas: December 25, 2018                                                

Good Friday: April 19, 2019                                                      

Easter Sunday: April 21, 2019

Easter Sunday (Orthodox): April 28, 2019

Hindu

Janmashtami: September 3, 2018 Diwali: November 7, 2018

Dasera: October 19, 2018

Jewish*

Rosh Hashanah: September 10-11, 2018                                

Yom Kippur: September 19, 2018                                            

Sukkot/Simchat Torah: September 23-30, 2018                     

Hanukkah: December 23-30, 2018

Purim: March 20/21, 2019

Pesach (Passover): April 20-27, 2019

Shavuot: June 8-10, 2019

Muslim

Eid al Adha: June 15, 2019                                                    

Islamic New Year: September 12, 2018                                 

Ashura: September 20/21, 2018                                             

Mawlid an Nabi: November 20/21, 2018

Ramadan: May 6, 2019

Eid al Fitr: June 4-7, 2019

* All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.