Jul 25, 2024  
2017-2018 Graduate Catalog 
2017-2018 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Distinguished Professor Stanley Wojewodski, Jr., Division Chair

Professors: Rhonda Blair, Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Bill Lengfelder, Stanley Wojewodski, Jr., Steve Woods
Associate Professors: Michael Connolly, Jack Greenman, Russell Parkman, Sara Romersberger, Anne Schilling, Gretchen Smith, Claudia Stephens
Assistant Professors: Benard Cummings, Blake Hackler
Artist-in-Residence: Will Power
Lecturers: Brad Cassil, Marsha Grasselli
Adjunct Lecturers: Dawn Askew, Jason Biggs, Linda Blase, Steve Leary, J.D. Margetts, Kathy Windrow
Costume Shop Manager: Melissa Panzarello
Costumer: Eugenie Stallings
Prop Master: JT Ringer
Scene Shop Foreman: Eliseo Gutierrez
Master Electrician: Dawn Askew
Associate Master Electrician: Steven Piechocki
Technical Director: J.D. Margetts
Assistant Technical Director: Steve Leary

General Information

The Division of Theatre offers three-year specialized professional training programs in acting and stage design leading to the Master of Fine Arts degree. The graduate training programs are committed to professionalism in attitude and practice. Only students with a serious interest in the theatre as an art – those committed to self-development and prepared to work responsibly and collaboratively in their discipline – should expect to enter and continue in graduate study.

Instructional Facilities

The Division of Theatre is part of the Meadows School of the Arts, housed in the well-equipped facilities of the Owen Arts Center. These include the Bob Hope Theatre (a 392-seat proscenium theatre), the Margo Jones Theatre (a 125-seat “black box” theatre), the Greer Garson Theatre (a 366-seat theatre with a classical thrust stage), the Ruth Collins Sharp Drama Building, and the Jake and Nancy Hamon Arts Library.

The Division of Theatre presents an annual subscription season of full-scale public productions chosen for their suitability for training, timeliness and public appeal. All theatre students are considered members of the Division of Theatre, and practical experience is considered a vital part of the theatre-training program.

Admission and Financial Aid

The Division of Theatre observes a highly selective admissions policy in its graduate programs. The acting program admits eight students in alternating years. The design program admits approximately four students each year. Prospective students in all areas are strongly encouraged to visit the campus to gain a keener appreciation of the division’s training, the environment and the University.

Acting Interview: Audition

The acting faculty auditions applicants for graduate study in acting. Applicants can choose to audition in Dallas, at the University/Resident Theatre Association’s three venues or at a number of the division’s own national sites. Appointments for on-campus auditions can be made by contacting the Meadows Student Affairs Office. On-campus auditions require the preparation of two monologues: one taken from a classical play and one from a modern or contemporary play for a total of four minutes or less. Students may sing but are not required to do so.

Stage Design Interview: Portfolio Review

The design faculty interviews applicants for graduate study in scenery, costume and lighting design. Applicants can choose to interview in Dallas, at the University/Resident Theatre Association’s three venues or at a number of the division’s own national sites. Appointments for on-campus interviews can be made by contacting the Division of Theatre.






      General Topics THEA 5101/5201/5301, 5398/5399, 6101/6201/6301, 6216, 6217, 6315
      Acting THEA 5205–5210, 5303, 5304, 6107, 6108, 6111, 6114, 6205–6210, 6212, 6303, 6304, 6313, 6503, 6604
      Stage Design THEA 5221–5258, 5241, 5351–5357, 5373, 5374, 5375, 5379, 5398, 5399, 6119, 6120, 6215, 6316, 6317, 6319, 6351–6357, 6361, 6362, 6373


      Page: 1 | 2