Dec 06, 2022  
2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog 
2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Professor Robert Howell, Department Chair

Professors: Eric Barnes, Doug Ehring, Robert Howell
Associate Professors: Philippe Chuard, Justin Fisher, Matthew Lockard, Jennifer Matey, Luke Robinson, Brad Thompson
Assistant Professor: Alida Liberman
Senior Lecturer: Kenneth Daley
Lecturers: Joshua Crabill, Stephen Hiltz

General Information

The Philosophy Department is well known for strength in ethics, moral psychology, metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of mind and philosophy of science. Students focus on the development of skills in reasoning, their understanding of arguments and viewpoints, the critical evaluation of varied perspectives, and clear written and oral communication. The critical thinking skills developed in the major and minors are of benefit to students in many disciplines and are especially useful as preparation for law school.

The department offers a B.A. in philosophy and minors in philosophy and in ethics. Courses include core areas of philosophy and specialized topics such as animal rights, philosophy of law and philosophy of mind. The department also jointly operates two interdisciplinary minors in cognitive science  (with Psychology) and neuroscience  (with Biology and Psychology).

Departmental Distinction

Departmental distinction is awarded to philosophy majors graduating with at least a 3.5 GPA in philosophy and who successfully complete a writing project under the guidance of a faculty member.